Zenefits Payroll Review

Zenefits
Product:
Vendor:
Founded:
Headquarters:
Zenefits
Zenefits
2013
San Francisco, CA
Ownership:
Customers:
Deployment Model:
Free Trial:
Private
11,000+
Cloud
Yes
Download Comparison Guide

Zenefits At A Glance

Good: An easy-to-use platform with features that automate many payroll functions, like deduction calculations and tax filings.
Bad: Customer support can be difficult to reach, especially after the implementation process.
Bottom Line: A full-service payroll system that connects to all HR solutions to streamline tasks and sync critical information.

Product Overview

Zenefits is an all-encompassing, cloud-based HR suite that improves efficiency by automating key tasks related to payroll, benefits, performance, compliance and more. This review will focus on the features and benefits of Zenefits’ payroll system. For more information about Zenefits’ full HR functionality, read our Zenefits HRMS Review.

Zenefits’ payroll system connects to all your HR solutions. The system automatically syncs any changes you make while managing employee information to reduce errors in critical payroll and tax documents.

Features

Zenefits automates its payroll features so the software can practically run on its own. This allows your team to focus more on performance instead of correcting errors or making tedious calculations.

Some of Zenefits’ key payroll features include:

  • Automatic Pay Runs – Figure out the best payroll schedule for your company, and Zenefits will automatically run it for you.
  • Automatic Tax Filings – For no additional cost, Zenefits can process your W-2s and file your taxes in all 50 states.
  • Automatic On/Off Boarding – Zenefits will automatically add a new hire’s data to payroll and calculate all deductions. Zenefits will also prorate the person’s first and last pay checks with your company.
  • Automatic Upkeep – Payroll is integrated with all of your Zenefits solutions, so any updates and changes made to employee information are automatically synced.

Zenefits also has features that give you and your employees full visibility for payroll functions, allowing you to better understand when and why updates or changes were made. Those are:

  • Payroll Timeline – A complete visual history of the events that change payroll ( like start date, life changing event, etc.), which help employers answer employees’ questions.
  • Smart Stubs – To help employees understand their paychecks better, this breaks them down into a clearer format.
  • Easy Comp – Easily collaborate with your team to coordinate bonuses and commissions for each employee on a single-platform dashboard.
  • Pay Preview – Preview and manage a paycheck before the pay run to make sure everything’s correct. You’re able to edit ledgers, dig deeper into deductions and more with this overview tool.

  • Benefits Management?
  • Direct Deposit?
  • Employee Self-Service?
  • Mobile Functionality?
  • Payroll Processing?
  • Reporting?
  • Tax Management?
  • Time & Attendance?

Target Market

From health care to retail to IT and more, Zenefits aims to help small to mid-sized businesses in a growing list of industries.

Since it was founded in 2013, Zenefits has helped over 11,000 organizations’ HR departments become more efficient. We’ve listed some of its notable customers below:

  • Dot & Bo
  • Passport
  • Urbana
  • Binpress
  • Total Access Urgent Care
  • Any Perk
  • Colorado Outward Bound School
  • Flexport
  • The Animal Foundation
  • Tribus

Download Now: The Payroll Software Buyer's Guide

Choosing a Payroll Software Solution is all about finding the right fit. Our report will walk you through the process and help you make a smart purchasing decision. Download Now

Implementation/Integration

To start the implementation process, you must sign up on the Zenefits payroll page. Then a support team member will contact you to help get everything set up for your company.

Customer Service & Support

You must log into your Zenefits account for targeted customer support. The support team is available via email to address any questions or concerns you may have.

If a request is urgent, contact the support team by phone, Monday through Friday, 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Pacific Standard Time (PST), and Thursday, 6 a.m. to 4 p.m. PST.

Pricing

Zenefits offers three levels of pricing: Essentials, Growth and Zen. Customers can be billed monthly or yearly.

Essentials: $10/employee per month ($8 for yearly billing)

  • HR platform
  • Time and attendance
  • Scheduling
  • Compliance
  • Mobile app
  • PTO tracking
  • App connect (ability to integrate Zenefits to third-party applications)

Growth: $18/employee per month ($14 for yearly billing)

  • All features in Essentials plan
  • Compensation management
  • Performance management

Zen: $27/employee per month ($21 for yearly billing)

  • All features in Growth plan
  • Well being (features that help companies measure employees’ well being)

Zenefits also offers optional features, such as:

  • Payroll ($6 per employee per month)
  • Benefits ($5 per employee per month if company wants to use their existing broker; free for companies that use a broker from Zenefits’ partner network)
  • Advisory services ($10 per employee per month; $8 for yearly billing): This feature includes access to certified HR and payroll experts for questions or issues

Shortcomings

Some customers have said the implementation process was prolonged due to delayed response times from their assigned implementation representatives.

Others have mentioned that account managers become distant after implementation is complete.

Screenshots

Zenefits Screenshot 1
Zenefits Screenshot 2
Zenefits Screenshot 3

Zenefits Payroll Review Q&A

No questions posted yet

Sign in with Linkedin to leave a question

Thanks for submitting your question

We'll reach out to the vendor and will post their reply once we receive it

Thanks for submitting your answer

Your answer will be published after moderation

About

Zenefits was founded in 2013 and has been one of the fastest growing Software as a Service (SaaS) start-ups in Silicon Valley. It’s built on a mission create effortless solutions to manage your business and employees.

Without the disruptive switching of legacy systems, Zenefits has helped over 11,000 small and mid-sized businesses eliminate paperwork and automate time-consuming HR tasks with it’s free, simple-to-use interface.

The company is currently headquartered in San Francisco, with a second office in Phoenix.

Download Vendor Comparison Guide
Send feedback or corrections to feedback@betterbuys.com.

Related Solutions






User Reviews

  • User Rating
  • Rated 3.44 stars
    3.44 / 5 (18 )
  • 68.8%
  • (18)

Rated 3.44 stars
3.44 / 5 (18 )

68.8%


  • Features
    User: 62%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 72%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 67%
  • Support
    User: 58%


Alexandra
Rating: 4
4 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 80%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 80%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 80%
  • Support
    User: 50%

Great HR System

on 2019-09-20 18:44:55

The portal is easy to use. They have great tutorial videos for every section. Using the system saves time if you try and use all their features.



Jenna Mullikin
Rating: 2
2 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 15%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 100%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 50%

Zenefits Needs Payroll Help

on 2019-09-06 11:13:29

We have not used Zenefits payroll in 3 years, however--we were given the boot overnight due to Zenefits not being able to pay taxes in a state we operated in. In addition because we are a govt. contractor we found somethings that were not DCAA compliant which was a hard work around for us.



Kiet Tran
Rating: 4
4 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 90%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 95%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 95%
  • Support
    User: 75%

Payroll user friendly

on 2019-08-21 11:26:16

I have been using Payroll feature at Zenefits for a year. Our firm switched from another payroll service provider to Zenefits and we received lots of benefits using it. Zenefits does everything of calculation and tax reports for us.



Loren
Rating: 4
4 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 82%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 86%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 69%
  • Support
    User: 54%

Zenefits

on 2019-08-16 14:35:10

Zenefits has helped us streamline our new hire onboarding process by 100%! And payroll is so easy now!

The implementation process was easy enough to figure out, however, more support from the zenefits team would have been greatly appreciated. There is a lack of communication between our teams.



Cayla
Rating: 4
4 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 82%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 79%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 83%
  • Support
    User: 64%

Zenefits

on 2019-08-16 14:33:06

Great tool for HR needs. Allows us to consolidate all of the programs we were using into one place (Payroll, HR Support, Hiring, etc). It is also great that our employees can easily access their portals for pay stubs, W-2's, and make updates to their tax information.



Lia
Rating: 5
5 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 30%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 100%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 100%
  • Support
    User: 100%

So easy and quick!

on 2019-07-23 16:10:14

Onboarding and offboarding is the main reason we use Zenefits. It's incredibly easy to use and integrates so well with our payroll system. The only issue I have ever had is come enrollment for benefits, there's been glitched in the system cause employees not get the email to enroll and subsequently losing their coverage.



Mashael
Rating: 4
4 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 71%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 71%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 65%
  • Support
    User: 63%

Great Software for small businesses

on 2019-07-19 09:26:53

Zenefits has helped us with so many automated issues we previously had with other software! I definitely think they need improvement with including Garnishment, Unpaid PTO, etc. But, they are always trying to figure out a way to improve their software by including feedback from their customers. so i know for a fact it will be improving drastically throughout the years.



ben
Rating: 4
4 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 77%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 86%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 81%
  • Support
    User: 61%

Saves time and effort

on 2019-07-18 00:05:56

Zenefits is a major improvement over our old system of no system at all. We've had the platform for 4-5 years now and it's great for our team members to manage their own info and bring our basic HR functions into one house.



Courtney Boren
Rating: 4
4 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 66%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 100%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 80%
  • Support
    User: 78%

Review

on 2019-07-11 13:51:51

Zenefits Payroll is great for small companies such as myself; however, coming from a larger company I wonder if Zenefits will fit our needs as we grow. I recently discovered Zenefits cannot handle garnishments; so I had to process them on my own.



Sandy Hopwood
Rating: 4
4 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 50%

Good for Small Businesses

on 2019-07-09 17:37:44

Zenefits does a great job of automating many manual tasks, which is very helpful. For example, the reporting features are good at sending you the information you need and filtering out what you don't. I also like the automated hiring emails so you don't have to manually reach out to new hires before their first day.

The company's Open Enrollment software made our enrollment so easy for our employees. I was glad that of the handful of questions I got, none of them were about the system itself.

Overall Zenefits puts forth a good product for the price point and I'd recommend them to a small business.



Jennifer Salvatore
Rating: 3
3 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 25%
  • Support
    User: 50%

A Good Start But Needs Improvement

on 2019-07-01 23:06:59

Pros: Having payroll integrated with the rest of the tools we use in Zenefits has been a good move for us. Our employees really appreciate having access to their payroll information 24/7 through the app. Eliminating physical pay stubs has reduced paper waste and reduced the risk of confidentiality.
Cons: Implementation was a bit challenging; better communication, more details re: the process, and follow up support could have been better. Our biggest issue has been tax remittance and reporting. It hasn't been clear who is doing what. Getting a notice from the city that we didn't correctly submit taxes is alarming. We've lost confidence in the process. There needs to be better communication re: process. Additionally, we have a need for consistent reports and regular reports. It would be ideal to have a payroll calendar for the whole year rather than just ahead of each payroll.



Sarah Hiller
Rating: 5
5 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 89%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 91%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 83%
  • Support
    User: 95%

Great Software and Awesome Service

on 2019-06-27 18:39:39

We've been with Zenefits for 4 years and have seen a lot of changes. All positive ones. They engage the community, the support is always helpful and successful, they have a lot of cool features and make it easy to customize. They listen to your issues and work on solving them.



HR
Rating: 2
2 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 50%

Wrought with issues

on 2019-06-26 09:45:34

Zenefits platform is user friendly and easy to navigate which makes it great with exception of no electronic signatures (documents must be signed with your finger and the pad on the keyboard, making for an illegible and inconsistent signature). The biggest problem is that if you are using another vendor for payroll such as ADP, or you are allowing to Zenefits to manage your health plans, enrollments and terminations, etc. you will likely experience many frustrations. The exports or data loads to ADP are sporatic, they stopped working consistently and Zenefits never bothered to alert their customers of the issues. We are now forced to do double entries. When the data loads do happen major issues occur that cannot be corrected by ADP. When we allowed them to handle our benefits enrollments it was a nightmare, employees not enrolled, enrolled incorrectly missing dependents, not terminated timely. They failed at all promises to shop our benefits and provide competitive plans, we never did receive a renewal quote from the existing vendor and were forced to quickly get into the only plan they offered. The list goes on.

Their customer service has improved, they have added text communication, one business day email response which used to take several days to a week and phone support. I'd say they still have a long way to go to be a reliable service that I could recommend.



Shae Jackson
Rating: 5
5 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 100%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 100%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 100%
  • Support
    User: 71%

Seamless low-cost solution for small to mid-sized companies that kills busy work

on 2018-12-06 11:34:47

Pros: With a solution like Zenefits, I have managed to reduce the HR budget year-over-year while going 100% paperless. The integration with our applicant tracking system allows me to push data seamlessly from my mobile device directly to Zenefits to extend an offer, wherever, whenever. I am no longer chained to the constraints of my desk, which is critical for an HR team of one. Easily the most comprehensive solution in the market (at this price point) that addresses onboarding/offboarding, automated and customized email triggers to employees, time and attendance, insurance, aca compliance, reporting (standard and custom) and a multitude of integrations. Since becoming a client over 2 years ago, I have gone to market year-over-year, and haven't found a solution that is comparable. Zenefits kills the busy work and allows me to dedicate time to our employees and driving meaningful initiatives, restructuring the experience with HR to being a partnership versus an administrative burden.

Cons: I wish the performance management module was baked into the subscription versus an add-on cost. The transition to a new brokerage, OneDigital, has come with its challenges, but I appreciate that the leadership teams both with Zenefits and OneDigital have been willing to personally speak with me to determine how gaps can be bridged to improve my experience as the employer.



Sarah Hiller
Rating: 5
5 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 50%

Very Satisfied

on 2018-11-20 15:26:01

We have been a customer for 3 years. I'm very happy with the services. Payroll, time off, and benefits. The benefits services especially have been wonderful. Super easy. The customer service has been wonderful as well.



Jenna Mullikin
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 38%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 25%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 82%
  • Support
    User: 27%

Zenefits Payroll

on 2018-11-20 13:59:34

Zenefits Payroll was not great for us. Lots of mistakes and issues. Then they dropped us in 2 weeks and forced us to find another alternative because they didnt operate in a state that we did.



Steve T
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 50%

Stay Away!

on 2018-08-02 20:02:05

After two payroll runs we are cutting our loses and switching back to our previous provider. The mistakes (while minor) they have made and their excuses is very telling. They are not fit to run a payroll company.
If you do a Google search, you will see they have made alot of tax miscalculations with their payroll runs.



Brian
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 40%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 33%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 12%
  • Support
    User: 5%

Lack of Support

on 2017-12-06 14:11:55

My company has been using Zenefits for about 2 years. This was our total solution for HR, Onboarding, Benefits Management and Payroll interface. We have found many errors with the system and required a full audit of every new hire to ensure data being communicated to payroll and benefits systems was correct. We found many errors and could not count on data integrity. Our largest issue is with support. Technical support is located on the West Coast and therefore we are required to wait until 11:00 EST before communicating our issues. This completely threw our annual benefits enrollment into a last minute rush because of waiting on support. This limited availability for support should be obsolete.



Write a Review

*