Workday Review

Workday
Product:
Vendor:
Founded:
Headquarters:
Workday HCM
Workday
2005
Pleasanton, CA
Ownership:
Customers:
Deployment Model:
Free Trial:
Private
2,100+
Cloud
No
Download Comparison Guide

Workday HCM At A Glance

Good: Companies can assess their workforce by utilizing analytics and Big Data.
Bad: Generating reports may be complicated for some users.
Bottom Line: HCM designed for medium-to-large-sized companies with multiple locations.

Product Overview

The Workday HCM Suite is a cloud-based all-in-one package intended for medium-to-large-sized companies – especially companies with multiple locations. Workday HCM encompasses all of the HR functions in one solution. Not only does Workday HCM include traditional HR functions but also offer Workforce Planning and Analytics and Big Data Analytics.

Workday HCM includes these following functions:

Human Resource Management: This solution allows companies to manage and organize their workforce. Employees have self-service functionality as well as managers. Other features include compensation management and absence management.

Talent Management: The talent management suite includes functions for managing employees, such as onboarding, goal management, performance management, succession planning, and career planning.

Recruiting: The recruiting solution provides talent sourcing (both internal and external candidates), collaboration opportunities between the recruiter and hiring team, ability to access candidate information from mobile devices, and social media recruiting. Workday also allow for companies’ career pages to have mobile device accessibility for candidates. Finally, users can perform recruiting analytics – they can analyze what positions are open or what specific types of candidates they are looking for and then create recruiting strategies based on real-time data.

Benefits: This solution helps companies manage their benefit plans in an efficient, flexible, and secure manner. Companies also have access to a variety of benefits providers (health insurance, 401(k)s, life insurance, etc) via the Cloud Connect for Benefits. The Cloud Connect for Benefits include a pre-built integration catalog to many different providers, and automatically takes employee information data from Workday HCM so users won’t have to worry about manually entering data. It also automatically updates any change in employee status – all the user has to do is schedule the updates.

Payroll: With the payroll solution, users can make multiple payroll calculations at any time, perform batch calculations either by group or workers, have flexibility with earnings and deductions, and run audit reports. Companies with employees located outside North America can utilize Workday’s Cloud Connect for Third-Party Payroll – Workday partners with other third-party payroll companies – users can use the local payroll service in the desired country while still accessing payroll data via Workday.

Time Tracking: Employees can clock in and out via either a Web browser or a mobile device. Companies that require physical time clocks can integrate with Workday via an API.

Workforce Planning and Analytics: Users can utilize business intelligence metrics to analyze the company workforce (labor costs, what positions need talent etc). Users who want to know if there’s a talent shortage can create headcount plans via the Supply & Demand Analysis.

Learning: Users can create a variety of content, such as videos, documents and surveys. They can also track attendance and performance of instructor-led training courses. An unlimited number of content can be stored.

Features

Workday HCM includes many standard HR features, several that are indicated below. We want to note that Workday focuses heavily on the mobile experience – allowing employees to access their own information, allowing recruiters to access candidate information anywhere  at any time, and allowing managers to improve time off and control absences and to handle employee performance.  Workday offers mobile access at no charge.

  • Attendance Management?
  • Benefits Administration?
  • Employee Self-Service?
  • Learning Management System?
  • Mobile Access?
  • Payroll Management?
  • Performance Appraisal?
  • Recruiting Management?

Target Market

Workday targets a wide variety of industries, such as healthcare, higher education, manufacturing, finance, technology, and retail. They also have role-based solutions that targets the C-Suite (CHRO, CEO, CFO, CIO). We’ve listed several of their customers below:

  • AAA NCNU
  • Brown University
  • Cardinal Health
  • Chiquita Brands International
  • McKee Foods
  • MGM Resorts International
  • Sallie Mae
  • Symantec
  • TripAdvisor
  • Yahoo!

Free Report: 5 Essential Steps for Choosing the Right HR Software

Choosing an HR Software solution is all about finding the right fit. Our report will walk you through the process and help you make a smart purchasing decision. Download Now

Implementation/Integration

Workday partners with other organizations to help companies deploy the product. Deployment is a 5-step process, which are:

  • Project Plan Review
  • Integration Approach Review
  • Prototype Configuration Review / Integration Build Review
  • Test Review
  • Final Configuration Review

Workday also provides a variety of training methods, such as classroom training, on-demand training, virtual classrooms, and self-service online training. There is also an adoption toolkit that contains videos, job aids, and marketing materials.

Customer Service & Support

Workday has created a support team called Workday Support to help provide answers and resolutions to questions or issues. The customer  can file a request for support via the online Workday Customer Center.  Once the request has been made, customers will receive a case number and a confirmation email, as well as status updates. The request then gets routed to the appropriate customer service representative.

Customers can access Workday Community for additional resources, such as product documentation, get information on new features, and communicate with other customers.

Pricing

Workday doesn’t publicly release their pricing information. Please contact them directly for a quote.

Shortcomings

Workday is not designed for smaller businesses, so they may need to shop elsewhere for an HCM.  Also, some users have reported that it is not always user friendly – for instance, it takes a few clicks to complete some processes, such as generating reports.

Screenshots

Workday Screenshot 1
Workday Screenshot 2
Workday Screenshot 3

About

Workday was founded in 2005 by Dave Duffield and Aneel Bhusri (both formerly PeopleSoft leaders) with the idea of selling a cloud-based software for HR and Finance. Their Workday Financial Management Software debuted in 2007 followed by Workday 10 (talent management and HCM solution) in 2010.  The company went public in 2012.

Workday also offers Big Data Analytics as well as cloud solutions targeted specifically for Higher Education.

Headquartered in Pleasanton, CA, Workday has multiple offices in the U.S. and worldwide, including Europe and Asia.

Fun fact – Employees in Workday’s Pleasanton and Salt Lake City locations are encouraged to bring their dogs. Workday even hosts a Bring Your Dog to Workday party each year.

Download Vendor Comparison Guide
Send feedback or corrections to feedback@betterbuys.com.

Related Solutions






User Reviews

  • User Rating
  • Rated 1.16 stars
    1.16 / 5 (19 )
  • 23.2%
  • (19)

Rated 1.16 stars
1.16 / 5 (19 )

23.2%


  • Features
  • Ease of Use
  • Ease of Implementation
  • Support


Dana D
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 50%

Woe you you if you forget your password!

on 2018-07-26 00:12:41

I don't need to access Workday often, but when I do, I can NEVER get into it without our campus IT helping me. Reason: The user name differs from my regular campus log ins (only Workday requires capping some letters, which i usually forget), and there is no "forgot your user name" button to allow you to retrieve your info via an email.
What's worse, when you finally connect with campus IT, the only thing the are allowed to do according to Workday best practices is to give you a brand new university-wide password, They can't even say—hey, did you cap these letters. That means changing everything, just Workday.
So, you spend hours getting into Workday that 1 time every 2 years HR wants you to update your cell phone number in the system. But of course, you can't get right in—even if your password works you have to answer two our of four verification questions...and you might not remember exactly what you typed for those either.
Really, the only solution to getting into Workday is to write down your oddball user name, your password, and the answers to your four questions. I have now put mine in a little flowered note book. And we all know written down passwords are super secure, right?
Can I tell you my hunch: Workday has very, very poor security built into it, so they dump a ton of extra security tasks on the end user.
There are so many better choices (ADP comes to mind). Why, why Workday?



Pat Kelly
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 1%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 1%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 1%
  • Support
    User: 50%

Sigh of relief - I'm not crazy

on 2018-06-13 13:06:03

As an end user, after about 6 months, I'm as lost as I was at first use. Not intuitive, not user friendly, pretty colors and appearance but pretty useless and confusing. Not at all easy to find info - search yields tons of useless results. Typical company taking on too much. Can't believe their stock was so valuable. Jack of all trades, master of none. There is nothing easy or direct about using the service.



Konstantin Balashov
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 1%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 50%

Terrible navigation

on 2018-06-12 12:33:08

Unusable - navigation does not exist.
They need to hire a usability engineer.
Until then interface is a torture.
Sure, you can do a few simple things. But beyond - you spend hours clicking all over the screen hoping there will be some link to some page with some other link and you will be able to find what you need - but you cannot. Sometime you can reach some pages from links in Inbox - but then they disappear and you are out of luck.



Alan McNew
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 50%

Get paid on Friday but thanks to workday check doesn't come till Monday. Dated Fridays date of course.

on 2018-05-23 20:04:08

Workday is a horrible program. There's NO excuse Why my pay comes late. Before workday check arrived on time now it shows up Monday instead Friday the checks dated Friday. If there's a holiday Monday check doesn't show till Tuesday. It totally fucked me over showing up late. Now my car payments are late giving me a extra $50 fee for lateness. I go all weekend with no money and run out of food because I'm so used to getting paid on Friday. Its been a month and a half now. I've never hated a payroll program so much in my life.



Jenna
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 1%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 1%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 1%
  • Support
    User: 1%

A CRIME AGAIN HUMANITY.

on 2018-05-18 15:27:37

Entering your time in this system is atrocious. I have to click once to get the blue "Enter Time" box to appear, then click twice again to get the enter time window to actually pop up. Three clicks just to open a time entry window! Each day worked has to be entered in this seperate pop up window and GOD FORBID you type your hours before you select what type they are because it will erase what you wrote and your have to retype it again.

The emergency contact edit page is a long rambling page of dull gray squares that lists a single piece of info about your primary emergency contact per square. God forbid they put it all in one square, like they do for your alternative contacts. Oh no, we can't have that. ONE SQUARE PER INFO TIDBIT!

For alternative emergency contacts at least all the info is on one square, but the squares are seperated by less than a millimeter of border so you can barely tell where one contact ends and another begins.

Don't even get me started on doing your own annual review. More giant confusing squares with multiple places to type that are not clearly labeled. I ended up just copy pasting my self review for each section twice because I couldn't figure out which box to type in.

Whoever designed this should be ashamed of themselves. They should hang their head in shame while their pelted with rotten tomatos by the village children. And by me because I want to throw them too.



John
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 3%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 3%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 3%
  • Support
    User: 3%

Did they consult ANY recruiters when creating this!?!?

on 2018-04-11 12:47:04

As a recruiter, this is the absolute worst system to ever use. There are about 10 steps you have to go through just to get to the reqs you want and then you have to filter out your own. More and more companies are going to this because of all of the HR functions and it's so expensive that companies are replacing their ATS with this. It's the worst idea ever. Taleo, Brass Ring, iCIMS... THOSE are quality ATS's. This is so counterproductive for recruiting. My suggestion is to bring in several recruiters and get their take on what an ATS is and how it should operate. And for God's sake, stop doing maintenance in the middle of the day when I need to use it! Do maintenance in the middle of the night or on a Sunday. All the people at Workday care about it money and I'm not mad at them for that, but make a quality product. Then everyone will stop complaining about it. 1 star from nearly everyone should tell you that you have a lot of improving to do. When I have to sit on my hands for a month while Workday is getting up and running.... No. Simplify your processes, make things user friendly and make this an HRIS/ATS and everyone might start giving more stars.



D Comer
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 2%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 2%

Terrible program

on 2018-04-06 19:16:43

Must have been designed by pure HR computer geeks. Terribly counterintuitive with no help menus. Just entering attendance discipline is an exercise in frustration. Interview and hiring is even worse.



Jeffrey Drozd
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 1%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 1%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 1%
  • Support
    User: 1%

Complete Crap

on 2018-04-03 10:17:07

Orders lost, time wasted and lives ruined are just a few ways to describe this abomination. Educational workshops that are designed to support personnel who are forced to use Workday are a complete waste of time and resources. If you use this software be prepared to resubmit the same order or report over and over and over again.



CC
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 1%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 1%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 1%
  • Support
    User: 1%

Just Awful!!!

on 2018-03-29 12:07:26

As an applicant, I avoid applying to companies that use this as the ATS. I have numerous issues with WorkDay application system.

At the beginning of application process it asks you to upload a resume. It then parses it for information to fillout relevant fields for the user. However, it never saves the resume and requires you to upload it again later in the process. If you think you already uploaded it at the beginning, you may not think it is required again so you submit you application without attaching the resume for the second time. Next thing you know, you application has been rejected because the company thinks you were too lazy to attach a resume.



Nwnoni
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 10%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 1%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 1%
  • Support
    User: 1%

If I could give ZERO Stars

on 2018-03-13 20:18:22

This the most user unfriendly junkware I have ever worked with. Multiple levels of approvals required for the most mundane, inconsequential events with corresponding emails to overload inbox. You absolutely can't get a REPORT. Propaganda during implementation promised how wonderful reports would be. They lied. Complete opposite is true. It costs $$$$. Shop for something else.



Lorraine Russell
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 12%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 25%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 17%
  • Support
    User: 3%

Payroll Computations Wrong

on 2018-02-02 20:14:49

Miscalculates deductions and taxes. A nightmare. Makes simple tasks cumbersome. Apps don’t give employees the options to do what they need to do.



Mark Grote
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 25%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 10%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 25%
  • Support
    User: 20%

Junkware

on 2018-01-25 18:23:33

@Workday is THE worst platform ever. Not intuitive at all with few controls, either no menus or vaguely worded navigation that others have said, don't match your task. And the goals from years back, just hang around forever on your goal details sheets with no way to remove them. Workday is pure junkware!



Anonymous
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 15%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 10%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 1%
  • Support
    User: 1%

I rather go back to paper processin

on 2018-01-23 14:34:00

The higher ed system in our state switched to workday last year. We were told workday would make our processes run more smoothly and that it would be easy and intuitive for employees. It is not. Business processes have to go through various people and if a business process gets stuck in someone's inbox we can't move forward. Hiring is a nightmare especially for part-time employees. Payroll is cumbersome as employees have to check in and out which is fine if workday had a bigger window for them to do so but, if you are one second over six hours the system wants you to take a lunch. We can fix that but then we have to take time to change 100+ employees because they checked out a second late (and that's just our department). Overall the software was old to us with the promise that it would fix and make many of business process easier but, so far we have had more issues than we've ever encountered before. I would not recommend anyone transition to it if they can avoid it.



Stanley Workday
Rating: 2
2 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 1%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 1%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 1%
  • Support
    User: 1%

Why Does This Exist?

on 2018-01-20 11:56:29

There are better ways to organize HR data. The recruiting features and algorithms are god-awful. We need to go back to paying EXPERIENCED HR employees more, getting rid of the new college grads who "just can use this software", and investing the time to find more quality employees beyond keywords. We have reduced our recruiting efforts of human beings down to keywords? Are you kidding me? This makes us lazy, ignorant, and incompetent. In a few years companies like these will be obsolete when they find out that it generates a less competitive workforce and overall company



Cheryl
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 50%

Worse Program EVER

on 2018-01-19 11:28:59

Not user friendly! The lingo doesn't match what you need to do! It REALLY sucks! Hire one person and you receive 10 or more emails. Clicking on each email to do a task. All the task should be in the first step. We nicknamed this WorkMORE! Because it has created ALOT more work for us!!!! -Higher Education



Harry
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 8%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 8%
  • Support
    User: 8%

The worst !

on 2018-01-05 16:12:25

One of the worst if not the worst time keeping system I ever used. Tell you the truth I rather use my watch it is more reliable and more "human". Workday has a mind of it's own. the time it keeps is from the planet Mars, not the time we keep here on earth. We had tons of problems implementing this software with zero or no guidance. After about a year the software is still full of bugs, but the designers ay its because we are a special case. it s a simple time keeping system ! my little sister can write one in her basic computer programming class !



Anonymous
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 20%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 5%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 1%

Hate This System SO Much

on 2017-12-19 11:26:55

This is the worst time entry system I've ever had the displeasure to use. And I've used a lot. It is NOT NOT NOT user friendly. There's too much JUNK that end users don't care about. And why does it have to be so difficult to complete a single task of entering your work hours. I've had nothing but problems since we've implemented it a year ago. I HATE this system.



Lini Varghese
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 28%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 5%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 3%

Worst HR software for android

on 2017-11-02 23:22:02

Workday one of the worst HR apps ever. Many companies that I tried to apply use 'workday' software, that doesn't work on phones (android) etc. I don't understand why companies don't use a recruitment tool that is tested on all medium. Taleo is far far better than workday according to my experience. Easy to use/ user friendly and works on phones! I hope all companies that use 'workday' HR software would check their own 'careers' site and see how they lose talented manpower just because of non-android HR software.



Lizarzaburu Collazos
Rating: 3
3 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 50%

Redundant and Bureaucratic

on 2017-09-17 15:43:22

This is the first time I am using WD as an ATS (Applicant Tracking System), and I have to say that the software is a pain to use. For instance, if you are changing a job description, the steps are awful: go to the job, Scroll to the change needed, choose the reason, submit the job, and approve the job you just did yourself, and hit OK. Also, once you make other changes, you have to always hit okay, and do several steps that could be skipped. It is the worse system I have used, as an ATS. My knowledge includes Kenexa's BrassRing, Taleo, and several other leading tools, so I am have a basis for comparison. As an HR tool, I thought it was fantastic. Other than that, I struggle with the tool. As I said, lots of redundancies and highly bureaucratic!



Write a Review

*