Ceridian Dayforce Payroll Review

Ceridian
Product:
Vendor:
Founded:
Headquarters:
Dayforce Payroll
Ceridian
1992
Minneapolis
Ownership:
Customers:
Deployment Model:
Free Trial:
Private
110,000+
Cloud
No
Download Comparison Guide

Dayforce Payroll At A Glance

Good: Strong focus on employee self-service, payroll can be done on the go via mobile devices, ability to spot mistakes and issues before finalizing payroll.
Bad: Customer service tends to be slow in resolving support issues, reporting module could be easier to use.
Bottom Line: Cloud-based payroll component that reduces administrative time and ensures accuracy and compliance.

Product Overview

Similar to ADP, Ceridian offers solutions specifically tailored to company size, role, industry and location. We’ve reviewed its human capital management (HCM) component, Dayforce HCM. However, the focus of this review is Dayforce’s payroll component.

Like other Dayforce HCM modules, the Dayforce Payroll component is cloud-based, so employers can process payroll in real time – therefore replacing batch-driven processes.

Other benefits include:

  • Employees can track their pay history without having to request it from HR or accounting.
  • Payroll administrators can make edits and fix mistakes in real time to ensure accuracy and compliance.
  • The payroll-processing cycle is more efficient.

We also want to point out that Ceridian offers a payroll solution targeted to small and medium-sized businesses (SMBs) with less than 100 employees: Ceridian HR/Payroll.

Ceridian HR/Payroll provides similar features to Dayforce, such as the ability for employees to view pay history, the ability to access payroll on the go, and tax management and compliance.

And finally, there’s Dayforce ConnectedPay, a payroll component that’s intended for multinational organizations (companies that have global offices).

Features

Many of Dayforce Payroll’s features are indicated below. In addition, we want to note a few things:

The Dayforce Payroll feature has a strong focus on employee self-service. Employees can track and update their pay information at any time from any device. They can view the breakdown of their paycheck, including gross/net earnings and deductions. Employees can view their entire pay history as often as they wish, dating back to their first year at the company. They can also access and print out tax forms.

Because compliance with legal pay requirements is important, Dayforce Payroll provides audit reports to help payroll administrators spot issues before finalizing payroll. Administrators can create an unlimited number of reports or use built-in templates. They can also drill down into details, such as zero checks or missing information. The reports can be viewed within the software or exported to Excel.

  • Benefits Management?
  • Direct Deposit?
  • Employee Self-Service?
  • Mobile Functionality?
  • Payroll Processing?
  • Reporting?
  • Tax Management?
  • Time & Attendance?

Target Market

Ceridian is tailored to a wide range of industries, such as manufacturing, hospitality, retail and professional services.

Below is a partial list of Ceridian’s customers:

  • Borbet Alabama
  • B&H Photo & Video
  • Employbridge
  • International Payroll Solutions
  • KeHe Distributors
  • Pier 1 Imports
  • PM Pool Services
  • PSK Supermarkets
  • TD Bank
  • MCA of Los Angeles

Download Now: The Payroll Software Buyer's Guide

Choosing a Payroll Software Solution is all about finding the right fit. Our report will walk you through the process and help you make a smart purchasing decision. Download Now

Implementation/Integration

Ceridian partners with three consulting companies in the implementation process: Axsium Group, Sability and Wise Consulting. Each company helps the client in assessing requirements, risks and issues.

The companies also handle system testing and deployment, as well as provide training.

Customer Service & Support

Ceridian offers online and phone support tailored specifically for its products. For instance, there’s a specific support portal for Dayforce HCM customers. In this portal, customers can access a knowledge base, submit a help ticket, or manage profiles and subscriptions.

For phone support, Dayforce users can call 1-866-748-7066.

Pricing

Ceridian doesn’t publicly display their pricing information. Please contact them directly for a quote or to submit a request for proposal (RFP).

Shortcomings

Some users have reported that customer service tends to be slow with resolving issues.

Also, some users have said the reporting module could use improvement in several ways, such as making it easier to find and filter data.

Screenshots

Ceridian Screenshot 1
Ceridian Screenshot 2
Ceridian Screenshot 3

About

Ceridian is a multinational company dedicated to providing trusted results to its customers. Its core values are customer focus, transparency, diligence, optimism and agility.

In addition to its Dayforce HCM platform, Ceridian offers solutions such as LifeWorks, PowerPay and International Payroll. It also has many offerings dedicated to HR, workforce management, talent management, tax compliance, employee assistance and wellness.

Located in Minneapolis, Ceridian also has other offices in the U.K. and Canada. It has won accolades such as three Golden Bridge Awards in 2017, the 2017 Gold Stevie award for Dayforce Onboarding and Glassdoor’s Best Places to Work list for 2018.

Download Vendor Comparison Guide
Send feedback or corrections to feedback@betterbuys.com.

Related Solutions






User Reviews

  • User Rating
  • Rated 1 stars
    1 / 5 (13 )
  • 20%
  • (13)

Rated 1 stars
1 / 5 (13 )

20%


  • Features
    User: 21%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 15%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 18%
  • Support
    User: 15%


Joel Cromwell
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 50%

DO NOT EVER USE THIS SYSTEM

on 2018-07-20 12:39:21

This is hands down the worst experience on a computer I've ever had! You go through their long drawn out system to register and later on you still can't log in, tells you you're already logged in. Call customer support they blame they're system on your employer and say only your employer can "fix it". The representative I spoke with "Liz" hung up on me when I asked to speak with her manager. DO NOT USE THIS SYSTEM IF YOURE AN EMPLOYER! DO NOT WORK FOR A COMPANY THAT USES THIS SYSTEM!



C Hay
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 70%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 10%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 70%
  • Support
    User: 20%

Want to hate your time tracking software? Use this!

on 2018-07-16 09:43:34

Need to pull up any reports or just check the schedule for employees? Be prepared to wait forever every time you want to do this. I had hoped that with updates and over time the product would perform better but that simply has not been the case. Years later the front end loading times and internal navigation is frustrating. Unable to recommend.



John Nlow
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 4%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 5%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 1%
  • Support
    User: 1%

Horrible Migration

on 2018-07-03 14:52:53

Migrating from Ceridian Source 550 to DayForce has been a horrible experience. Ceridian charges you to migrate your data, but will not migrate all of your data. Only active employees and those terminated in the last year. They don't migrate all of the common fields you would expect. You would expect the migration to be easy since you are moving from their software to their software. It isn't, its exactly the same as if you were going with a completely different company.
Migration team is very slow to respond to respond to hiccups and provide solutions to issues, they just ask you to fix the data when you go into production. Often when there are issues they will not let you review their fixes before implementing them in production.
This isn't an enterprise level software. Maybe if I had less then 40 employees this would be worth it. At 500+ employees its worthless for our complex organization needs.
And of course this is a SaaS product, and you are completely at the mercy of their support when issues arise. And support is very slow to respond.
And their reporting tool is worthless. You don't have SQL access. Their API is worthless (and they don't support it at all), which they rate limit your calls to 100 calls per minute. When I need to retrieve 500+ employee's data, it takes minutes instead of micro seconds via SQL.
They still have several of the most important screens in the system requiring silverlight. It's mid-2018 and they are *still* using silverlight.



Not a fan
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 1%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 1%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 2%
  • Support
    User: 2%

Worst decision HR has ever made

on 2018-04-21 20:30:53

Ceridian used scare tactics to make us think that the current platform we were using, Ceridian Insync, was going to become obsolete and no longer supported. Without going to market or exploring other platforms, we sat through the sales pitch of the century and HR made a decision to sign on the dotted line. This has been the absolute worst decision ever made!

Ceridian uses configurability as their main selling feature, but what they don’t tell you is that you will be solely responsible for the configuration yourself. The different modules don’t speak to each other seamlessly, so it creates issues that take time investigating and troubleshooting. There is no consistency in implementation, which means you have to teach support your issue first before they can even begin to investigate. To say support is slow is being way too generous. If you are a mid-sized client, 1,000+ employees, you’ll probably need to hire a full time person to manage the system. Your current system should be really, really, really bad before you make the jump. You’ll pay more, get less and take far more time to accomplish what you used to if you implement Dayforce.

I think all the positive reviews are written by Ceridian themselves. It’s a relief to see some honest reviews by some real users.



Unhappy HR administrator
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 1%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 1%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 1%
  • Support
    User: 1%

Worst attendance system

on 2018-04-09 21:11:14

My company has just switched to using Dayforce for timekeeping and attendance, and it has been extremely difficult for HR team and end users, everyone has to spend more time editing and updating attendance records, and this is the most user-unfriendly system to generate any report (well, how good can a system be? If you couldn't even extract useful data, right?)

Whenever there is a system bug/error, it takes forever for Ceridian to rectify it. You have to spend a lot of time "explaining" the issue to them, and as a client you have to keep following up.



Dan C
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 50%

Huge Regret

on 2018-03-30 13:03:01

Gave one star because negative starts aren't an option. Like nearly every other service out there, it all looks great until you sign on the dotted line and start trying to use it. Previously had Paychex which was a nightmare and I didn't think we could find a service as bad as that. Boy, was I wrong. Horrible training on implementation, we got thrown off to "regular support" way too soon before we even really knew what we were doing, and their so called "support" is a joke. The simplest inquiries take a week or two and many, many emails back and forth to even get a response that MIGHT BE close to what you were inquiring about. We've been on the system for 3 months now and apparently my "implementation person" is tired of hearing from me because she doesn't even return my emails anymore. This company is the stereotypical service - get them signed up and after that, who cares if they're satisfied or not! I'd look at switching again but I don't really want to lose my payroll person or send her to the funny farm over ANOTHER service switch.



Steven B.
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 1%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 1%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 1%
  • Support
    User: 1%

Bravo

on 2018-03-16 11:05:00

I honestly believe they set out to build the most cumbersome - slow - complicated system for recording time. The rollout was horrible and now that I am having to use it daily my employees can't clock in/out without some error occurring preventing their timestamp from processing. It is a total PIA and is costing real dollars - two mins here and there does not sound like a big deal, but spread that across 1500 employees being paid just to have to fix the system problem. Also takes a while to load every time. I am not on the accounting side but surely this has to make their life easier, or else this was built just to be a PIA.



Unhappy
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 7%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 2%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 2%
  • Support
    User: 2%

Buy this to piss off employees

on 2018-01-13 15:59:59

Only buy this system of you're looking for trouble. The system doesn't know how to round up. It doesn't know how to talk to itself if you correct a problem. You have to correct every area effected for that one mistake it made because it can't round up. And this is just one of a long list of problems.



Frustrated employee x1000
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 3%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 2%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 2%
  • Support
    User: 2%

Not 5-star, not even close!

on 2017-12-18 19:47:15

Finally, some actual honest reviews about a product that has a great sales pitch but falls short on delivering! If you surf the net, you'll find many positive reviews about Dayforce HCM. I'm not sure who has written the reviews but they are clearly not people who have actually used the system. If you're looking for a system that increases efficiency, improves accuracy and delivers on quality, this is NOT the system for you.

Since implementing, our monthly costs have increased significantly, we spend more time trying to figure out what the system has done and why, we pay more employees wrong than ever before and we spend far too much time managing tickets. Support is slow, going through a learning curve and doesn't have a clue why the system is doing what it is.

Buyer beware!!!!



Sophie V
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 50%

Worst Payroll program

on 2017-11-21 11:55:03

If you are considering of switching to Dayforce, Forget it. Its not user friendly and support is very very slow in providing resolution it will take months and endless email to the point you get frustrated. Requesting for customize report means a lot of money. You have to pay them for custom report and will take 6 months and still not close to completion for simple employee earnings report. Setting up vacation rule is a night mare. Time sheet to payroll doesn't calculate properly and you have to add rules every time because you cant just edit the previous rule. If you setup wrong earnings or deduction you have to create a new one and move the ytd, if you have lots of employee you have to set up each earnings to each employee and move ytd to each employee, plus the system glitch so it crashes imagine the frustration when you have all adjustment and haven't save cause the system crash. Call the support to ask about t4 summary and they doesn't even have idea what t4 summary is and where to find it unbelievable. Every time I call support it seems like they don't know anything about payroll nor their software. Save yourself or your company some dollars and frustration.



Julian Gonzalez
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 6%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 5%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 8%
  • Support
    User: 9%

GLITCHY - GLITCHY - GLITCHY

on 2017-10-06 18:15:04

My company started using Dayforce on September 2017 and it is extremely frustrating because it is glitchy. Every time you need to input schedules, or review timesheets, when you try to "save" it feezes and then you need to go back again and check if it saved or not and many time you need to do it all over again.
A big waste of time and not reliable.



L Schlecht
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 33%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 15%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 1%
  • Support
    User: 1%

This is NOT for a single person HR/Payroll Department

on 2017-09-21 10:29:58

If you have one person doing payroll, one person doing HR and one person doing Recruiting I think I would have a different opinion. The software it too complicated for one person to quickly learn on their own. Too many nuances that will take years to become proficient. The worst part is you don't know, what you don't know, until it's too late. The overall features would be amazing if you could figure out how to set them up and use them. Support doesn't like to help much on this. You are directed to the very expensive education program you need to pay for if you expect to learn how to work the system. I don't know about you, but I don't have a lot of spare time to spend on 4 hour training class each time I need to make a change in the system. The reporting is a nightmare. This is a revenue stream for Ceridian. You need a background in SQL to be able to create a report. No SQL? Then you will either pay them a large amount of money to create a report for you, or be stuck with the canned reports. They make no sense and don't provide the data expected. Most reports can only be run for hourly and salary employees separately, and then you will need to add everything together to get a complete picture of your payroll. Support is very slow, inefficient, hands off and mostly off-shored ( though if you speak loud enough, you can get an entire team of Dayforce experts at your disposal). All in all it has been an extremely painful process moving to Dayforce. Knowing what I know today, we would not have moved to the Dayforce product.



Frusterated Employee
Rating: 1
1 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 1%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 1%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 1%
  • Support
    User: 1%

The worst product I have ever experienced

on 2017-07-21 18:10:18

My company just switched to this. I have to say whoever designed this has no clue what they are doing. There is no common sense to any of the features. I have never been so frustrated at a piece of software. They need to redesign the entire system. Maybe this works great for payroll processing... I am not on that side of things. However for managing employee's to scheduling, Dayforce is not user friendly and has a HORRIBLE interface system that has no rhyme or reason.



Write a Review

*