Sisense Business Intelligence Review

Sisense
Product:
Vendor:
Founded:
Headquarters:
Sisense
Sisense
2004
New York, NY
Ownership:
Customers:
Deployment Model:
Free Trial:
Private
600+
Cloud, On-Premise
Yes
Download Vendor Comparison Guide

Sisense At A Glance

Good: Fast implementation and time to insight, innovative in-chip technology processes volumes of data coming from many data sources with ease, provides top-notch customer experience, and premier rankings in customer satisfaction.
Bad: Visualizations do not include 3D graphics.
Bottom Line: BI solution that delivers radically innovative technology with machine learning and AI, instant insights and value, and top-notch customer support.

Product Overview

Sisense is not your traditional analytics tool. It is designed to handle all sorts of data, from small data sets to big data. It is also scalable – it allows companies to accumulate more data as they go without the worries of crashing servers or slow computer memory. Its in-chip technology utilizes parallel processing and an in-memory columnar database so that it can crunch up terabytes of data on a single server and still serve multiple users. Therefore, companies will not need to spend resources on additional hardware or servers.

Data sets can be transferred from multiple sources via a drag-and-drop interface. Sisense is also integrated with cloud-based applications Zendesk and Salesforce.  Users can simply transfer their data and begin analyzing and creating dashboards.

The drag-and-drop functionality also applies when creating dashboards. Users can move built-in chart widgets and place them in a dashboard with a click of a mouse. Users do not need to re-build dashboards – data can be updated in real time.

Dashboards can be shared with multiple users via the Web – those users can also access dashboards and run queries, as long as appropriate permissions are set. Data and dashboards can also be accessed from any mobile device.

Sisense’s BI solution can be deployed either as on-premised or in the cloud.  Pricing is based on a subscription model and is available in 3 tiers, depending on number of users.  The first tier is the basic tier that allows up to 10 users. The second tier (Business) allows for up to 50 users, and the third tier (Business+) includes unlimited number of users (50 or more users).  There is no additional costs for training or to maintain the software. Companies can either upgrade or downgrade subscription plans at any time.

Features

Sisense provides a variety of different features, some of which are listed below. We want to especially note that it is also designed for access from any mobile device. Users can analyze data, access dashboards, edit dashboards, or even run queries while on the go.

  • Ad Hoc Analysis?
  • Online Analytical Processing (OLAP)?
  • Predictive Analytics?
  • Profit Analysis?
  • Trend Indicators?
  • Ad Hoc Reporting?
  • Automatic Scheduled Reporting?
  • Customizable Dashboard?

Target Market

Sisense’s customers include everything from small businesses to large enterprises across many industries. Below is a partial list.

  • NASDAQ
  • Wix
  • ESPN
  • Merck
  • NASA
  • Dannon
  • Comcast
  • Intuit
  • Act-On
  • Samsung

Free Report: Selecting The Right BI Vendor

Choosing a BI vendor is all about finding the right fit. Our exclusive report will walk you through the process and help you select the perfect solution.Download Now

Implementation/Integration

There is a short implementation schedule with Sisense. Users can start with a free 14-day trial. Once they’ve decided to order, deployment can be set up within a matter of days, as there are no additional hardware or servers to set up.

Customer Service & Support

Sisense has a dedicated support page for all of its products. Users can receive updates or even connect for help with other users or even Sisense via a forum. Users can also submit help requests straight from the support page.

Also, in the pricing plan mentioned above, each plans includes free levels of support. For instance, for companies enrolled in the Business or Business+ price tier, support tickets are included. And companies enrolled in the Business+ plan get remote assistance and a personal specialist free of charge.

Pricing

Sisense offers an annual licensing model that’s uniquely based on a business’ needs. They don’t publicly release pricing information; please contact them directly for a quote.

Shortcomings

Sisense has many positive attributes but we want to point out some things potential users should consider:

While their dashboards and visualization provide the usual graphics (bar charts, etc), there is no advanced graphics available (such as 3D or cube graphics) nor a plain format that is devoid of fancy graphics.

And also, the Elasticube functionality tend to be time-consuming and prone to errors, especially with failure to build errors. There is no way of knowing why those errors occur. We hope that this will be fixed in later versions but we encourage users to contact technical support at Sisense to help resolve those issues.

Screenshots

Sisense Screenshot 1
Sisense Screenshot 2
Sisense Screenshot 3

About

Sisense describes itself as the “Robin Hood of the BI world” – bringing data to everyone, not just the technical experts or large companies with endless resources to spend. Its “secret sauce” is the technology it uses to design the BI solution so that users no longer need to write complicated code or rely on IT technicians – anyone can build as large a data set as possible from any device anytime. Founded in 2004, Sisense has served over hundreds of companies from small businesses to large enterprise in various industries.

Download Vendor Comparison Guide
Send feedback or corrections to feedback@betterbuys.com.

Related Solutions






User Reviews

  • User Rating
  • Rated 4.53 stars
    4.53 / 5 (17 )
  • 90.6%
  • (17)

Rated 4.53 stars
4.53 / 5 (17 )

90.6%


  • Features
  • Ease of Use
  • Ease of Implementation
  • Support


J
Rating: 4
4 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 85%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 75%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 70%
  • Support
    User: 75%

Great Customization and Flexibility, but Requires Research/Implementation Time

on 2018-06-26 16:24:54

Customization regarding business model, company-specific needs, and features implemented are fantastic. We have custom branding and a very specific branding and re-sell model and Sisense is accommodating and flexible. There are many different ways to tweak your experience, unfortunately, it either requires a dedicated developer (or a couple, some for data modeling and design, some for networking and server management, and some for Javascript, HTML, Python, and CSS coding) or a lot of support time to get it running the way you want. It also requires a bit of digging to find the plug-in, feature, or community help you need, though there are a lot of resources available. The design and front-end are appealing and functionality is very solid once everything else is figured out. Scalability, product improvements, and company growth are all very positive. They have a very broad clientele base, but are able to create great custom solutions.



Mike Jeppson
Rating: 5
5 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 100%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 100%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 100%
  • Support
    User: 100%

Game-Changer for our Company

on 2018-06-21 10:17:09

We are in the implementation phase, but this business intelligence platform has already made our performance and service offering stand head and shoulders above our competition. This has enabled us to remove the headaches and workarounds we have been dealing with for years with our current systems. I just attended the event in NYC last week and I am excited about the new features coming soon.



Suzanne Pointer
Rating: 5
5 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 75%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 85%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 100%
  • Support
    User: 72%

Great Addition to our Analytics tools

on 2018-05-23 14:34:18

We switched from another Tool to Sisense. The first tool took us 10-12 months to implement, was not user friendly and took daily maintenance. I was asked by the business to evaluate Sisense as a potential new tool and had dashboards up and running within a few days with little to no assistance. We just upgraded to 7.1.1 and I am looking forward to implementing the new features.



Rudi Stassen
Rating: 4
4 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 83%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 67%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 77%
  • Support
    User: 82%

Happy with Sisense

on 2018-05-21 10:28:47

It does take some time to get used to if you are not familiar with coding or other BI tools but this does not take long to learn. SISINSE support have a wide variety of training material available online as well as the Community which I have found very helpful when I have got stuck.
Overall it is a powerful tool if you are working with large amount of data that you need to summarise and distribute out to your business in a timely and regular basis once you get used to the basic functionality.



Frank
Rating: 5
5 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 50%

Easy to use BI tool

on 2018-05-21 08:50:48

Sisense deals very well with large sets of data from various sources. This is the first BI tool I have used however I still found it relatively straight forward to create useful, attractive dashboards in a short space of time, the tool is intuitive and easy to use. Elasticube manager is also easy to pick up, the pop ups for various functions are extremely useful especially for beginners. Overall Sisense has allowed us to get accurate information to the business leaders quickly and in an attractive package, it has played a large role in the continued success of the business.



Clint Romeril
Rating: 5
5 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 83%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 75%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 70%
  • Support
    User: 62%

on 2018-05-21 08:18:42

Sisense is a real game changer as far as reporting tools go, it provides great insight into all areas of the business and assists with accurate Decision making.

I would recommend Sisense to any business of any size.



Brian Coetzer
Rating: 4
4 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 70%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 81%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 60%
  • Support
    User: 69%

Easy to use BI Tool

on 2018-05-21 08:12:25

Sisense has been a great way for us to get MI to various parts of our business. Many people are not neccessarliy tech savvy or experienced in programs such as Excel and we have had minimal issues in rolling it out as the ease of use is great.

From the perspective of building data cubes it is also relatively simple although a basic undrstanding of SQL would be a big help as the code is very similiar to this.

Overall a really good product, even though it is not perfect but there are updates regularly and easy communication channels for requesting changes



Lisa
Rating: 4
4 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 75%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 65%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 60%

A great tool for a large company

on 2018-05-21 07:49:57

I've been using Sisense daily for about six months now to deliver information to both our front end staff and our senior executives. The interface is not the most attractive but it is clean and simple to navigate, there are a lot of options on how to display the data so you can do pretty much what you want in a dashboard. That we have such control over which user can see what data is really useful as we have hundreds of users, each with a different permission. There is a lot of flexibility in cube creation but it does take a while to learn the ropes; it isn't the most intuitive to a finance professional like myself! Overall this product delivers what we need but isn't the sleekest model.



Steven
Rating: 4
4 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 80%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 80%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 75%
  • Support
    User: 90%

Powerful BI tool

on 2018-05-03 15:22:50

The interface for creating dashboards is modern, and it's pretty easy to get started making dashboards once you have the data loaded into SiSense. There are many additional options to customize the display and filter the data being shown. SiSense also offers an online training course to get you started, in addition to kickoff calls with a SiSense rep.

For more complex data models, it does seem to take more iteration and time than you might expect to get the data modeled in a way that works well with SiSense. The reps are helpful through this process, though.



Erin Fry
Rating: 4
4 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 82%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 74%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 74%
  • Support
    User: 100%

Powerful Elasticube Model

on 2018-04-19 16:25:12

At first our company didn't put in enough resources to see all that Sisense could do, but once we devoted the time it became apparent how powerful of a tool Sisense is. I especially like the Elasticube technology. After proper implementation it is very powerful.



Chris Bridges
Rating: 5
5 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 50%

Great product and would recommend

on 2018-03-13 11:47:05

From day 1, Sisense and their support team are there to get you going. They are ready to go immediately and will work as quickly or as slowly as you would like. The comprehensive training materials their support team offers was great and is a continued asset when there is something that I do not understand. The tool itself is powerful and intuitive. You do not need to be an expert data modeler to take full advantage of this tool.



Esther
Rating: 4
4 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 50%

Sisense Product Review

on 2017-12-14 18:36:34

Pro
Simplifies business analytics for our teams and allows them to make better decisions
Reveal actionable insights of our data in a much faster way
Allows us to share and present these insights with co-workers, management, and clients
Con
The connecting to Digital Marketing tools can be improved



Brian Tait
Rating: 5
5 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 90%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 100%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 100%
  • Support
    User: 100%

Implementation Was Great, And Support Continues To Be Great. We Enjoy Pushing The Limits

on 2017-12-13 12:30:52

Great experience. We use Sisense both internally and resell (OEM) to our clients. Sisense implementation team did a great job helping us to complete our first use cases, which was a great source of hands-on education. We've been running with Sisense for more than a year and have seen useful new features, design updates, and bug fixes. Their support people are efficient, professional, knowledgable, and just nice people. There have been challenges as we push the limits of functionality, but support from both the sisense community and the Sisense support people has allowed us to push through those challenges. Sisense has a incredibly useful and valuable product today, and I look forward to seeing the product roadmap come to reality.



Michael Becker
Rating: 5
5 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 77%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 86%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 100%
  • Support
    User: 98%

Embedded and Easy

on 2017-11-17 08:27:40

Great tool with super easy installation and easy to use. Recommended to everyone who wants to roll out BI quickly.



Sam S.
Rating: 5
5 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 50%

Great for mid size

on 2017-10-11 09:57:59

Our company needed an easy to use, agile BI tool and Sisense was it! Got up and running fast. The customer experience is the best, great people and on boarding.



Daniel
Rating: 4
4 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 50%

Also happy with SiSense!

on 2017-06-14 05:12:23

Very easy to work with and the UI is great! Need to improve performance but other then that it is awesome.



Keith
Rating: 5
5 /5 stars

  • Features
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Use
    User: 50%
  • Ease of Implementation
    User: 50%
  • Support
    User: 50%

Happy with Sisense

on 2017-05-08 08:28:20

I was very happy with Sisense.
Implementation was rather fast and was very pleased with the support I received.



Write a Review

*